|Fare||half day pass NT$250
one day pass NT$400
two day pass NT$700
|Where to buy||1.Booking online(http://www.kinmendiway.com)
2.7-ELEVEN ibon, FamilyMart FamiPort
3.Jincheng Station and Shanwai Station
4.Ticket on Bus,Juguang Fort, Kinmen Airport and Shuitou Piers Visitor Center
Guidelines for carrying folding bikes on the bus:
The Zhaishan tunnel, located southeast of Gugang Lake, is an underground tunnel that leads directly to the ocean from the inner land. The excavation of the tunnel was launched in 1961 and completed. The tunnel serves mainly to preserve the combat capability of military boats.
The main body of the tunnel was excavated through the bedrock of granitic gneiss and divided into a walkway and a waterway. The walkway measures approximately 101 m in length, 6 m in width and 3.5 in height, containing seven camp houses. The waterway is distinguished with A-shaped entrance and exit, each equipped with a rolling-machine controlled water-gate. It measures approximately 357 m in length, 11.5 m in width and 8 m in height, which can accommodate 42 military boats at anchor.
Juguang Fort sits on the southwestern side of Jincheng overlooking Jyuguang Lake. Behind the Tower is the Fonglian Range and it faces the river mouth of Wujiang River and is linked to Jiangong Island. The grounds cover over 6612m2 and from the top visitors can enjoy sweeping views of Houpu (Jincheng Township), Wujiang's tides and even Jiangong Island, Lieyu and Mainland China in the distance. Construction on the Juguang Fort commenced 1952 at the same time that the "Wu Wang Zai Jyu" inscription was unveiled to commemorate the heroism of soldiers and officers in past battles over Kinmen. The Tower was completed in the fall of 1953 after a massive expenditure of money and manpower. Both the military and civilian populations were involved in the project, demonstrating their battleground unity. The tower itself is three stories tall and was built in the classical palace style. The inscription "Juguang Fort" at the top was written by Lai Sheng-Ming, the hero of the Battles for Dadan and Erdan. Lai had been an enlisted soldier but during the Dadan and Erdan Battles in 1950, he braved the enemy fire to carry out the orders of his company commander and became a national hero. The choice of an ordinary soldier with awards for valor instead of important dignitaries was in keeping with the Juguang Fort's mission as Kinmen's Museum of Heroes. When the Post Office issued stamps featuring these two locations, over 1.72 billion stamps were sold and distributed around the world.
The Guningtou War Museum was located in the battlefield of the Guningtou War. It was completed and inaugurated in 1984 in commemoration of the Guningtou War.
Hung around in the museum are several oil paintings depicting battle scenes. Also on display are documents of war history and war trophies, accounting comprehensively for the tremble of the war.
Located at at Hou Village, Jinshan Town at Kinmen, Shishan (Mt. Lion) Howitzer Front is a rare underground Howitzer fort in Taiwan. The 8-inch Howitzers were made in the USA, which functioned incredibly well during the 823 Battle, turning the tide of the war.
Shishan (Mt. Lion) Howitzer Fort was once an important defense line. Now, it is refurbished to become a resort, displaying 75 mm Howitzers, 155 Howitzers, and 8-inch Howitzers. The front is presented to visitors in a whole new appearance, displaying the rare Howitzer accessories and Howitzer shows. Highly recommended.
Mt. Lion Howitzer Fort is located at the peak at the northeast of Kinmen—Wuhu Mountain (including Zhaizi Mountain, Meijen Mountain, Lion Mountain, Mianqian Mountain, and Huluo Mountain), at the altitude of 103m. Being the north entrance of Meiren Mountain, it has a rough geographic position, with tough and hidden architecture, facilitating cross-knit fire for the troops. Therefore, it could control the sea in north Kinmen effectively with high strategic value. It can block the entire beach and control the whole of Dongge Bay.
[The cannon show is highly recommend for all visitors]
Cannon show hours
Six shows daily:
Two shows in the morning: 10:00am and 11:00am
Four shows in the afternoon: 1:30pm, 2:30pm, 3:30pm, and 4:30pm
Located in front of Guningtou Fortress, it was once the battle field where the ROC Army and the enemy engaged. In the fortress, the army’s quarters and the old artillery forts can still be seen. On the walls of the forts, there are still the traces of gun shots. In the park, there is a new building –General Hu Lien Memorial Hall.
The war museum at the right of the Xihung Banyan Garden was completed in 1988 on the 30th anniversary of the 823 Artillery War. It looks solemn with white walls, red pillars and green glass tiles.
On display outside the museum are fighter planes, tanks and cannons used during the wars. In the museum are historical documents of wars, data of military intelligence, and reports of warring status.
Qionglin Village is located to the north of central Kinmen, on the western slope of Taiwu Mountain, and is one of the representative traditional settlements in Kinmen. In the past, woods surrounded the settlement, people used to called it “Pingling”. In the Ming Dynasty, a local resident, Cai Xian-chen was appointed as an official at the court, and Emperor Xi Zong of the Ming Dynasty named the place “Qionglin,” a name by which the place is still known to this day.
Being the largest village at the time, the structure and layout of this settlement is preserved well. During both the Ming Dynasty and Qing Dynasty, many local residents passed the government examination and became officials. Therefore, people called it the “Seven Shrines and Eight Ancestral Temples.” Now, its clan system and ancestral worship ceremonies are still preserved in good and complete condition.