|Fare||1.Single journey from Taoyuan Bus Taoyuan Station to Xiaowulai Skywalk (five section ticket)/full fare and half fare for each section is NT$18 and NT$9 respectively.
2.one day pass NT$ 150 / Full price NT$150 / Discount price NT$75
3.Payment method：easy card, ipass, Taoyuan elders card
|Where to buy||Ticket on Bus|
|Service Hotline||Taoyuan City Government Tourist Develop Department Tel:+886-3-3322101 Ext:5263Taoyuan Bus：+886-3-3882002，Service Hour：09:00~17:00|
Guidelines for carrying folding bikes on the bus:
“Xiaowulai Skywalk” is dreams come true for visitors who wish to walk in clouds! Fashioned by the Taoyuan City Government, and costing 800 million New Taiwan Dollars (NTD), the skywalk, though unadorned in appearance, possesses a reinforced glass floor that extends 11 meters across open air.
Walking on the transparent corridor 70 meters above the waterfall base, visitors can command spectacular views of both the Xiaowulai valley and magnificent waterfalls. It only takes 50 NTD to experience “a daredevil height of 70 meters and 360˚ view”. It’s absolutely sensational!
Daxi Mausoleum was established in 1962 and it’s originally named was Touliao Mausoleum. In 1988 Mr. Jian Jing-Guo passed away and Daxi Mausoleum became his eternal resting place. The exterior design with simple red brick and plain black wall matches Mr. Jian’s frugal personality. Inside the mausoleum there is Mr.Jian’s memorial hall and his old office which shows the simplicity of his past. The garden outside have plum and dragon juniper trees that made the building more elegant. Visitor may walk 1 km from Daxi Mausoleum to Cihu Mausoleum and enjoy the beautiful nature environment.
Cihu was known in earlier times as Biwei, and today it also has the nickname of Dongkou, or "Tunnel Mouth," due to its location at the exit of the Baiji Tunnel. Cihu also reminded Chiang Kai-shek of his hometown in mainland China. The Cihu Villa was built here in 1959 for Chiang's use, and in 1962 the former ROC president had this area renamed as Cihu, or "Loving Mother Lake," in memory of his mother Wang Tsai-yu.
After Chiang's death in 1975, Cihu Villa was renamed as the Cihu Presidential Burial Place. The brick mausoleum faces south to the water is built in the style of a southern Fujianese four-sided compound, with a tile roof and circular entryways on the left and right side of the front leading to the ancillary courtyards. There is even an air-raid shelter in the hillside behind the building.
Apart from the mausoleum, the biggest visitor attraction here is the changing of the honor guard ceremony. On weekends and holidays the cameras are flashing almost non-stop as for this popular ceremony.
Cihu Visitor Center
The Cihu Visitor Center is located in a single-story brick building on the side of the parking lot. The displays inside include numerous photographs of Chiang Kai-shek, as well as original and reproduction calligraphy works by the former president. The visitor center store sells a wide selection of souvenir items featuring President and Madame Chiang. Soft figurines of the presidential couple as well as Madame Chiang's beloved honey plum cake are among the most popular items at the store.
Situated behind Cihu, Baiji Trail was originally part of the Cihu military area but was opened to the public in 1998. The trail is covered by a thick canopy of trees with plenty of scenic views and a rich butterfly ecology to enjoy along the way. The path slopes gently and the entire trail can easily be walked in about an hour, making it a good choice for the whole family. From the highest point on the trail one can also enjoy a panoramic view of Da River (Daxi).
The forest here is composed mainly of secondary forest, old-growth, and bamboo forests. Commonly sighted birds in this area include the mountain Scops-owl, Chinese bamboo-partridge, yellow-throated minivet, crested serpent eagle, Formosan blue magpie, and various members of the Paridae and Turdidae families. Winter is the best time for bird watching. The trail also branches along the way, with routes leading to Xizhou Park, Xishi Pavilion, and the Dajiugong Trail, which offers some of the most picturesque views of Da River (Daxi).
Discovering Houci Lake
Shaped like a crescent moon, Houci Lake is fed by small streams on Baishi Mountain (Baishishan). Originally known as Longguomaipi, it currently serves as an irrigation pool of the Taoyuan Irrigation Association, with a water area of 41,076 hectares, and water volume of 177,500cubic meters or enough to irrigate an area of 117,29 hectares, mainly in the Da River (Daxi) and Sanceng areas.
In the 1950s, Chiang Kai-shek discovered Cihu when his car was forced to stop at the mouth of the Baiji Tunnel and he had to make a detour by sedan chair. The scenery reminded him of his hometown of Xikou Township in Fenghua County, Zhejiang Province. In 1955, The Banqiao family headed by Lin Pen-yuan provided 19 hectares of land in Cihu for the construction of a villa. The "Dongkou Villa," as it was then known, was completed on June 13, 1959, and renamed as the "Cihu Villa" in October 1962.
As part of an evacuation plan for the Office of the President in 1962, Chiang Kai-shek instructed the government to purchase land in Cihu for the construction of an air-raid shelter and wartime command center. Quarters were also constructed here for the secretary-general, chief aid-de-camp, and deputy secretary-general to the president. After Chiang's death on April 5, 1975, this site was renamed as the Cihu Presidential Burial Place. The Cihu Presidential Burial Place Administration was also built here to handle reception and management affairs. The five office buildings at Houci Lake were also transferred to the administration, which came under the management of the Taoyuan County government in November 2007 after the Houci Lake area lost its restricted military status. Since then, the county government has been renovating facilities on the site and making other arrangements for opening the area to the public.
As a restricted area, Houci Lake was long protected from outside interference. This isolation has helped to keep the forest and natural ecology in their pristine state, making this an ideal escape for public recreation.
Chiang Kai Shek Memorial Sculpture Park in Cihu
Chiang Kai Shek Memorial Sculpture Park is the only memorial park in the world dedicated to statues of a single person. The park was opened in Cihu by the Da River (Daxi) Township Government in 1997. On February 29, 2000, a ceremony was held for the installment of the park's first bronze statue of Chiang Kai-shek (donated by Kaohsiung County). The park was closed for renovation by the Taoyuan County and Da River (Daxi)Township governments and reopened to the public on April 5, 2008.
A total 152 statues of the former president, including both full statues and busts and even equestrian works, can be found at the park today, each with its unique artistic value. Most were donated by schools and government agencies, including the biggest one, which was donated by Kaohsiung City. The sculptures are linked by a network of paths throughout the park. A landscaped courtyard, small bridge and running stream further add to the park's elegant charm.
While the park is roofed by maples and old pine foliage, the 2 gigantic banyans planted by former President Chiang Kai-shek and Madam Soong May-ling are visitors’ favorite. Moreover, while visitors can have a commanding view of both Tahan Creek and Shihmen Reservoir from the park, they can also take stone flights of stairs down to the shore of Tahan Creek, and go across a suspension bridge to its mouth opposite.
In the old days, the Tamsui River was navigable all the way inland to Da River (Daxi) . The dock was where the old Heping Road runs today, and from Ching Dynasty times this has been the town's business commercial area. In addition to the traditional wooden furniture shops, on the Old Street today you can still see the old professions: the making of Da River (Daxi)'s famous dried bean curd, iron mongering, and stone working. The street was formed during the period of Japanese occupation (1895-1945) and the shops are faced in Japanese baroque style with washed stone. Beautifully decorated with intricate carvings of birds, animals, flowers, and plants. The name of the establishment is written above the entrance.